Flexibility in the Kitchen on Christmas

Sometimes, I can get so excited about trying a new recipe that I forget to do something important – like read the entire recipe. This is what happened on Christmas.

I was really looking forward to making the Mushroom and Spinach Stuffed Tenderloin recipe I noted here and I really thought I read the instructions. I know that I read the ingredients because I went grocery shopping and brought everything home. But I realized that I missed a few key items when Christmas Day rolled around and I was getting ready to start prepping the meal. Such as – we don’t own a kitchen mallet and also don’t have any twine.

Ooops.

Since no stores are open (or none that carry kitchen supplies) on Christmas Day, I was forced to be flexible.

Flexibility is really key in the kitchen. I have really improved in this area, as I can remember several meals I made many years ago that left me extremely upset because I forgot an ingredient, etc. Now I know that I have the skills and the confidence in the kitchen to just find a way to make it work. (It also helps that my husband thinks that 99.99% of the foods I prepare are delicious and he isn’t critical of meal appearance).

So, what did I do? I utilized a small skillet instead of a mallet for pounding the tenderloin and while it didn’t get as thin as the recipe called for, it was workable. Instead of twine, I used skewers that we had in the house.

The meal may not have looked as pretty as the picture in the magazine, but it did taste good, and that’s what matters.

Also, I used a pork tenderloin instead of beef due to taste preferences, so I did end up having to cook it longer until it reached 145 degrees with a meat thermometer and let is rest for 3 minutes (per current food safety recommendations).

Here’s the finished product, with our side dishes for the meal (adjustment from original plan due to timing and family requests!)

Pork Tenderloin

~ Beth

Leave a Reply

