Easy Hasselback Potatoes

Last night I tried hasselback potatoes for the first time.

photoThey were much easier than I thought they would be, especially for the first time I’ve prepared them!

My husband loves baked potatoes (well, all things potato) and I kept seeing this type of preparation pop up on various social media sites. I was nervous putting it on the menu for a Monday night (as opposed to a weekend) but it worked out really well for our schedule.

Easy Hasselback Potatoes (Recipe inspired by Cooking Light’s version)

Serves: 2 with medium potatoes. Note: if using large potatoes, double the toppings, but be aware that it will be 4 servings!

Ingredients:
2 medium potatoes
2 TBSP olive oil
Kosher salt, garlic powder, and pepper, to taste
2 TBSP reduced-fat shredded cheese, divided

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Wash potatoes and pat dry with paper towels.
  3. Slice potatoes horizontally, being careful to not slice all the way through, leaving about 1/8″-1/4″ between slices. (Tip: I placed a large spoon next to the potato, to help me not slice too far).
  4. Using a basting brush, brush olive oil onto each potato – get some between the slices, too!
  5. Top the potato with seasonings. (I tend to use a heavier hand with pepper).
  6. Place potatoes on a baking sheet that has a coating of non-stick spray.
  7. Bake for 45-60 minutes, until potatoes are crisped on the edges but soft on the inside. The larger the potato, the longer it will take to cook.
  8. Add 1 TBSP of reduced-fat cheese to each potato. The cheese should melt without having to put it back into the oven. Feel free to season it with additional pepper! Enjoy!

What I learned: Next time, I will aim to slice closer to together and I also want to try melted butter with the potatoes instead of oil. I also need to be a little more liberal with my seasonings!

Have you made hasselback potatoes before? What did you think?

– Beth

Leave a Reply

